Like Home *Tour Stop and Giveaway* Turn the Pages Tours



•Title: LIKE HOME
•Author: LOUISA ONOMÉ
•Rating: ★★★★★
•Length: 403 PAGES (hardcover)
•Publisher: DELACORTE PRESS
•Read Date: 12/30/2020
•Publication Date: 02/23/2021
•Type Read: DIGITAL ARC (via NetGalley)
•Genre(s): YA CONTEMPORARY FICTION

BUY LINK: https://bookshop.org/a/11727/9780593172599



Tagline and Book Description:

Fans of Netflix’s On My Block, In the Heights, and readers of Elizabeth Acevedo and Ibi Zoboi will love this debut novel about a girl whose life is turned upside down after one local act of vandalism throws her relationships and even her neighborhood into turmoil.

Chinelo, or Nelo as her best friend Kate calls her, is all about her neighborhood Ginger East. She loves its chill vibe, ride-or-die sense of community, and her memories of growing up there. Ginger East isn’t what it used to be, though. After a deadly incident at the local arcade, all her closest friends moved away, except for Kate. But as long as they have each other, Nelo’s good.

Only, Kate’s parents’ corner store is vandalized, leaving Nelo shaken to her core. The police and the media are quick to point fingers, and soon more of the outside world descends on Ginger East with promises to “fix” it. Suddenly, Nelo finds herself in the middle of a drama unfolding on a national scale.

Worse yet, Kate is acting strange. She’s pushing Nelo away at the exact moment they need each other most. Nelo’s entire world is morphing into something she hates, and she must figure out how to get things back on track or risk losing everything⁠—and everyone⁠—she loves.



Giveaway (US Only):

Up for grabs, we have TWO (2) finished copies of Like Home by Louisa Onomé! This giveaway will run from February 21st to February 28th at 11:59 PM CST and is open to US residents only. To enter, click the link below!

Giveaway Link http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/1e4a114d22/?



My Book Review:

Nelo has grown up in the neighborhood of Ginger East her whole life. It IS her whole life. And the sense of community she feels is so strong. But, when her best friend Kate’s parents’ store is vandalized, a crack forms in her world. Suddenly, Kate is distant and Nelo is on the news and nothing is the same. All Nelo wants is for people to look at her neighborhood and not see violence and hate, but to see the beauty of community like she does. Now, with a big chain store opening up, she helps her neighbors organize a silent protest to demonstrate how her community can bond together and make a difference.

The truly bone deep friendship between Nelo and Kate was so powerful. I had this growing up. The back and forth almost shorthand kind of speaking you have when you truly know a friend and are so comfortable. I felt that! And I felt the despair and desperation Nelo felt when she could see that friendship slipping away.

I loved how intense of a character Nelo was and how deeply she felt things. She was a fierce force of nature that would stop at absolutely nothing to find out who vandalized this cornerstone establishment of her neighborhood and her childhood. But at the same time, she was dealing with so many other things flying at her like growing up and school; old friends and acquaintances coming back into her life; her changing body; boyyyyyyys… She has so much going on.

I truly was transcended while reading this. And will eagerly read whatever Louisa Onomé writes next!!



About the Author:

Louisa Onomé is a writer of books for teens. She holds a BA in professional writing from York University and is represented by Claire Friedman at InkWell Management.

A part of the Author Mentor Match round 3 cohort, she is also a writing mentor and all-around cheerleader for diverse works and writers. When she is not writing, her hobbies include picking up languages she may never use, trying to bake bread, and perfecting her skincare routine. She currently resides in the Toronto area.

One thought on “Like Home *Tour Stop and Giveaway* Turn the Pages Tours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: